Oh Baby, Baby

My newest adventure in couponing involves testing the waters in the baby department.

My baby sister is having a baby!! (Yay! I’m going to be an aunt again!!) That means that soon we will be having a baby shower for her and I will need to come up with a kick-butt present for her and my new niece!

I’ve begun looking around and I have a few ideas up my sleeve but, in my research, I’ve come to notice that baby stuff has increased quite a bit since I had Jasmine in 2006. I vividly remember how difficult it was trying to readjust my lifestyle and spending to accommodate for a new baby and how I wished that I had been more prepared. (Of course, NOTHING can fully prepare you for motherhood!!)

This got me thinking… What if I use my skills to work on building her a mini baby stockpile?!? If I can get most of the items for close to free, then I can give it to her  in addition to what I was already planning, and it will be like the super-bonus gift! Plus, it will be just a little less for her to have to worry about when the time comes.

I stared signing up on all the baby websites and sure enough, coupons starting rolling in. I also took notice of the ones on the online coupon sites and started printing them, as well as collecting the ones from the newspaper.

Part of my wipe stockpile!

The first thing I looked into was wipes. (There is NO such thing as too many wipes!) Wipes average from $1.99 – $3 for the tubs. I was able to get $0.75 and $0.50 off coupons for the big name brands, such as Huggies and Pampers. When these coupons double, they lead to really cheap wipes. I bought many packs at $0.49 each.

Feeling confident in conquering the wipes department, I expanded into the other baby products. I can’t get into too many details, since I am sure she may be reading, but I was able to get baby food for free (watch expiration dates and plan accordingly) and my stock-up price for buying diapers is $3. (The general price range for the size packs is $6-$10)

I don’t like to toot my own horn, BUT, I am getting a pretty impressive mountain of goodies. The hubby laughs at me because I look like a crazy baby lady with a closet full of baby stuff. People at his store have given me the funny eye when they see me with all the baby stuff in the cart, but, when I explain what I am doing and how much I will spend, they want me to tell them how they can do it too!

I am so exited to be an aunt again and I’m even more excited to be able to give so much to my sister for my niece. I may live far away, but I’m always thinking of her!!

Leave a Reply

