You’ve got mail

“Your cat will never threaten your popularity by barking at 3 in the morning. He won’t attack the mailman or eat the drapes, although he may climb the drapes to see how the room looks from the ceiling.” – Helen Powers

Once upon a time, I came upon this quote that made me laugh because in our life, it could never be further form the truth.

We have 3 cats and the youngest of our frisky felines LIVES for the time of day when the mailman comes. He hears the hum of the mail truck, comes running, and then sits patiently at the door while staring at the mail slot. The second the mail comes through the slot, the cat pounces and he owns that pile of mail! He chews, rips, and tosses anything he can get his furry little paws on.

This happens every day. Every. Single. Day.

We are lucky to get mail everyday. Not the usual bills and mass mailings, but real actual mail. Our mailman and I have often laughed and joked that with me on his route, he has job security. I plan on keeping him in business because I love getting mail everyday. Especially, the tons of freebies, samples, magazines and coupons I get!

I sign up for all kinds of samples and promotions. I sign up for almost any I can find so I can have the opportunity to try out new products and receive coupons. I also enjoy getting free magazines so I can keep up to date with everything from fashion, to music, to family.

This may sound crazy but let me tell you about some of the most awesome freebies we have received. A “where’s the beef” t-shirt from Wendy’s, a water bottle filled with Larabars, countless k-cups, Mio, and beauty bags from Target. I have also received full size products from Olay, Pantene, Biore, Secret, and Schick. (once again, FB offers tons of these types of things!) Lastly, I’ve gotten TONS of samples of cat treats and trial sizes of cat foods.

Yup, you have found the reason for my cats obsession with the mail. After getting so many cat freebies, you can see why mail time is a big deal around here and why our feline friend ravishes the mail, searching for the one package that is worth tearing into.

Pretty kitty waits patiently for the mail… then takes it and destroys it!

Leave a Reply

