The Dollar Store Rule

I have come to adopt “The Dollar Store Rule.” Basically, the rule is as follows; Do not a buy a product for more than $1 if you an get it at the dollar store. (On a sidenote- not EVERYTHING follows this rule, I have some exceptions)

For example, some items that are included in my rule are; Toothpaste, toothbrushes, hair brushes and ties, body or hand soap, cleaning supplies, and paper goods (plates, cups, napkins, baggies). There are many others but I don’t want to overwhelm anyone.

Generally speaking, you can get most of these items for free when using a coupon paired up to a sale. But, if you must buy them, do not spend more than $1. You can find many of your favorite name brand products at your local dollar store for, yup, a dollar.

You would also be surprised at what you may find at a dollar store. They are fantastic for seasonal items! Recently, I was on the hunt for autumn foliage garland for my husbands store to decorate with. My first stop was Party City where I found 5ft strands for $6.99. Yikes!! I needed about 60 strands of them, as well as other items, and I was trying to stay within a $100 budget. My next stop was the Dollar Tree. I found the SAME strands of leaves for only $1!! This made for a great deal, as well as a happy husband!

I have found that the “dollar store rule” helps give you a price point basis. It gives you a little direction when you are starting out of what may be a good price or not.

Overall, keep your mind open and don’t knock the dollar store until you have tried it!

Oh, the possibilities…

2 thoughts on “The Dollar Store Rule

Leave a Reply

